Köttbusser Ketchup Meatloaf

Köttbusser Ketchup Meatloaf

Warning: It is really hard to make meatloaf attractive. Trust me that it is delicious.

My boyfriend decides every other day that he has a new favorite food. This is extremely annoying but at the same time, gives me a lot of options of what to cook each night. I knew when I made ketchup out of beer that it would need to become an ingredient in something else. Then, Brandon came home and declared his love for meatloaf so I said, “Meatloaf you shall have!” It wasn’t really as epic as this but you get the point. I set out to work trying to design the best meatloaf recipe of all time and I think I did a great job (totally complimenting myself, I know). It’s topped with not one but two beer condiments: Köttbusser Spicy Ketchup (uses Snow Drop by Grimm Brothers Brewhouse) and Baba Black Lager Mustard (uses Baba Black Lager by Uinta Brewing). The end result = the only meatloaf I’ve every liked, and it’s not just because I made it….okay maybe a little.

image

image

image

Ingredients: 

1 ½ lbs ground beef (80/20)

½ large yellow onion or one whole small yellow onion, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

1 tsp garlic

1 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 cup Italian style panko

1 cup Kotbusser Spicy Ketchup

1 tbsp Baba Black Lager Mustard (or another type of seeded mustard)

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 350°F. Whisk the eggs together in a small bowl.

image

Then, mix them in with all other the ingredients in a large bowl, except the ketchup and mustard.

image

image

image

Once again, you’re going to have to get your hands dirty if you want it done right so prepare yourself for meat fingers.

image

Next, form the meat mix into a loaf shape if you’re using a large dish, or just fill it into a loaf pan if you have one.

image

In a small bowl, mix together the ketchup and mustard, then pour it on top of the meatloaf. I pulled the sides of the loaf pan out a bit so some of the sauce could seep down into it.

image

image

image

Put the meatloaf in the oven for an hour to an hour and 15 minutes. When a thermometer reads 160°F, that loaf is ready to be feasted on! Top with extra Kotbusser Spicy Ketchup if you so please.

image

image

 

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a comment