Smoked Salmon Pasta with a Consilium Cream Sauce

Smoked Salmon Pasta with a Consilium Cream Sauce

So I’m not a huge seafood person. Of course, I love sushi like every other white girl in America but I just have a hard time getting past the fishy taste of most cooked sea creatures. Although I will pretty much never order salmon at dinner, I will frequently request a bagel with lox. Part of me likes to believe it’s making my bagel healthy (which is not possible). In order to get over my fear of the pink fish, I decided to face it head on and take my favorite parts about salmon at breakfast and use them to create a delicious dinner. Beer fits into this equation because Consilium, the brew by Renegade used in this dish, is made with orange peel – adding the perfect amount of zippy zest to the pasta.

After I finished cooking and plating, I knew that the meal smelled and looked glorious, but I was scared. So, I did what any sane 5 year old would do: I closed my eyes and took a big bite. To my surprise, I actually liked it, no, loved it! I didn’t have high hopes so it wasn’t hard for this dish to surpass my standards. Turns out, when you face your fears, sometimes there is a delicious reward waiting for you in the end.

 

image

Ingredients:

½ cup Consilium by Renegade Brewing Company

2 tbsp butter

½ cup whipping cream

2 garlic cloves, minced

½ cup romano, shredded

½ tbsp dill, chopped

1 tbsp chives, chopped

4 oz smoked salmon (hot smoked)

1 cup of tiny heirlooms, quartered

2 slices of red onion, chopped into small pieces

5 oz thin spaghetti noodles (1/2 box)

 

Directions:

Melt the butter and add the minced garlic, cooking until fragrant. Next, pour in the beer, whipping cream, and shredded cheese.

image

image

image

Add herbs after cheese in the sauce has melted and the pan has been removed from the heat.

image

image

image

 

Boil water for the pasta and pour the rest of beer left in the can in with the pasta water because why the hell not?! Once boiling, cook the pasta.

image

image

 

While the pasta and the sauce are cooking, chop up the smoked salmon, onion, and quarter the tiny heirlooms.

image

image

image

image

When everything is finished, put the pasta on a plate and top with the salmon, tomatoes, onions and finally – the Consilium cream sauce.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Great American Beer Festival Info: 

WIll they be attending? Yes.

What will they be pouring?

Consilium Pale Ale 5% 40

Redacted Rye IPA 7% 60

Hammer & Sickle Russian Imperial Stout 9% 60

5:00 Afternoon Ale 5% 25

Hiatus Cold Coffee-Infused Oatmeal Ale

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

