Oatmeal Yeti Braised Short Rib Tacos

Oatmeal Yeti Braised Short Rib Tacos

I had never cooked short ribs before but I had eaten them plenty of times. Knowing how delicious they are, I wanted to venture out and make them myself. Since they are somewhat pricy pieces of meat to purchase, I needed to do a lot of research first. I figured out how long to cook them for, at what temperature, and read how people succeeded and failed. I knew that by using Oatmeal Yeti by Great Divide (#yetimafia) something good had to come out of that pot…it just had to. So, I took the plunge, threw everything in my big red pot, and hoped for the best. As the short ribs simmered in the oven, basking in the gloriousness that is Oatmeal Yeti, I had plenty of time to pray for a delicious outcome. My wishes came true – I made something amazing. I’ve documented my trip to short-rib-braising-ville so that I can share my experience. Now you can make something awesome too.

image

image

 

Ingredients:

5 Short ribs

3 Small white onions or 1 large white onion, chopped

Olive oil

Salt and pepper to season

2 Bay leaves

3 Garlic cloves, smashed

1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley

2 cups Oatmeal Yeti

 

For tacos:

Corn tortillas

1 tbsp Fresh chopped basil

1 lb cherry tomatoes, assorted colors

Walnut Gouda cheese

Sriracha

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Season the short ribs with salt and pepper.

image

Heat a large dutch oven on the stove on medium-high heat until it’s smoking. Then, add some oil and sear the short ribs on all sides (only put in a few at a time, as to not overcrowd the pot).

image

image

image

Once seared, remove them and add the chopped onion, cooking until tender.

(There are 4 in the picture but I really did only use 3).

image

image

Next, add the short ribs back into the pot along with the other ingredients and of course, that delicious Oatmeal Yeti.

image

image

image

image

image

Cover the pot with foil and then put the lid on (for a tighter fit/better seal).

Pop those little guys into the oven for about 2 ½ hours – until they are falling off the bone.

image

image

At this point, you can choose how you want to serve them. I went for tacos. While the short ribs were slowly basking in the Oatmeal Yeti, I charred some corn on the grill, roasted cherry tomatoes in the oven (325°F for 15-20 minutes, until shriveled), chopped some basil, and shredded walnut Gouda cheese. The flavor combination was to die for which is why I seriously recommend that you try making these. Good luck and happy eating!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

