Independence Chicken

Independence Chicken

 

I had continuously gone to the liquor store and passed by Aspen Brewing Company’s Independence Pass Ale. Every time I went, I would look around, think about buying it, and then decide to go with another IPA. Finally, I got some advice from one of the beer gurus. He convinced me that this IPA was worthy of my purchase. I was reluctant, but I did it anyway.

It just so happened to be the 4th of July when I cracked open my first can of the patriotically named Independence Pass Ale (I know its named for the pass to Aspen, but it’s nonetheless patriotic). At first sip, I was hooked. This incredibly hopped creation is piney and full of citrus without being overly bitter. I couldn’t believe I waited so long to try it. In order to repent for my mistakes, I decided it must star in a dish. I love IPAs and basil (and pretty much any herb) and who doesn’t love stuffed chicken? So I made this – Independence Pass Ale marinated chicken breast stuffed with mozzarella, prosciutto, and basil…Independence Chicken for short. I consider this one of the best chicken dishes I have ever eaten, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

 

 

Ingredients:

2 skin on, bone-in chicken breasts

Independence Pass Ale by Aspen Brewing Company

Handful of Basil

3 oz Prosciutto

¾ cup Mozzarella Ciliegine (small balls of mozzarella)

Ground Ancho Chili Peppers

Garlic Powder

Fresh Ground Pepper

Salt to taste

 

Directions:

Take out your anger and stab some holes in the chicken with a fork. Put the chicken breasts in a deep dish and season with ground ancho chili peppers, garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, and a few leaves of chopped basil.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Now, for the fun stuff: crack open a can of Independence Pass Ale and pour that whole thing over your chicken.

image

image

Then, allow it to marinate in the refrigerator for about 4 hours. After the chicken is done basking in the gloriousness that is Independence Pass Ale – remove it from the refrigerator and cut in half lengthwise but don’t completely separate. Basically, make a pocket.

image

Chop up the prosciutto and slice the mozzarella into smaller pieces.

image

Stuff the chicken with the prosciutto, mozzarella, and basil – then tie it shut with unwaxed, unflavored dental floss, or twine, whatever is available to you.

image

image

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Grab a pan than can be put in the oven (no plastic!) and heat it up on medium-high heat. Throw a little oil in the pan and then place the chicken in it, skin down, with some weights on top. My high-tech kitchen weights are aluminum cans. My grandma says she wraps bricks in foil. Whatever you use, cook the chicken until you can smell the skin crisping. Don’t bug it, don’t touch it, just let it cook. You don’t want to mess up that delicious caramelization that’s going on.

image

image

When you think it’s ready, flip it over and pop it in the oven until the chicken cooks to 155°F. Remove from the oven, cut off the floss/twine, and let it rest for 10 minutes. When the chicken is done takin’ a nap, grab a fork, an Independence Pass Ale, and chow down.

image

image

image

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

One thought on “Independence Chicken”

Leave a Reply

