Fresh Squeezed giardiniera

Fresh Squeezed Giardiniera

I first heard about giardiniera while watch Guy Fieri tour a bunch of cheese steak places in Philly on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. In his usually manner, he was boasting about how great this veggie topping is, using a lot of words like ‘bomb’, ‘killer’, and ‘freaking awesome.’  Typically, giardiniera contains cauliflower florets, but I chose not to include them. Why? Because this is my blog and I didn’t feel like it. Other things it includes are celery, carrots, and peppers – I also added onions, because I plan on using this as a topping to other recipes and I love onions. But, besides the veggies, the star ingredient here is the Fresh Squeezed IPA by Deschutes Brewery. By itself, this IPA is ‘freaking amazing’ as any beer geek or Guy Fieri would tell you. In the recipe, it is equally delicious. IPA’s go great with anything herbal so that was one factor in its choosing. The other factor was Fresh Squeezed’s honey-like sweetness that I thought would help cut through some of the spice from the peppers. After tasting the giardiniera – I knew I had made the right choice. Try it out and see if you agree.

 

Ingredients:

½ cup celery, chopped

½ cup carrots, chopped

½ cup onion, chopped

5 serrano peppers, sliced

1 cup red pepper, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, pressed or minced

2 cups water

¼ cup salt

1 cup olive oil

1 cup Fresh Squeezed IPA

1 tsp fresh ground black pepper

1 tablespoon dried oregano (I also added 2 tsp of fresh oregano but more for aesthetic purposes since the dried is much more flavorful)

 

Directions:

If this isn’t one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever made, then I don’t know what is. Add all the chopped/sliced/minced veggies (including garlic) in a bowl with two cups of water and ¼ cup of salt. Refrigerate overnight. The next day, drain off the salt water and add the oil, Fresh Squeezed IPA, and herbs/spices. Refrigerate for 2 more days. Then, put the giardiniera in freshly boiled jars (so they are sterile). You can eat it right away or you can wait a little bit. The longer it marinates, the better it gets. I waited a week and a half before I used it on a recipe that I will post later this week…

In this picture, there is a zucchini that never got used…poor guy.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

One day later…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Two days later….

image

Enjoyed a week and a half after canning!

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

