Saison Risotto

Saison Risotto with Bacon, Leeks and Sweet Peas

Sometimes I get these crazy ideas that I’m going to cook something I’ve never made before and I get overly confident that it will turn out amazing. Sometimes it actually works – like this time. Never have I ever made risotto, but I definitely have eaten it. Its creamy, flavorful, and you can put practically anything in it. So I thought, why not just cook it in beer? It is usually cooked in white wine so I figured beer would work just as well, if not better. I waited and waited to use my favorite brew, Saison by Funkwerks, until I found the perfect recipe. Finally, I had my chance.

How many ways can I describe my love for thee, Saison? You are crisp and spicy. You are full of yeast and fruity flavors. You are the perfect beer for me and evidently, also this recipe. The first addition of Saison gets it cooked into the grains. The final addition ensures that the sauce also has all the enchanting flavors incorporated. Thank god the recipe turned out so well because I would never want to dishonor this unflawed creation from Funkwerks.  Try it out and see for yourself.

image

image

 

Ingredients:

2 cups of Saison by Funkwerks

1 ½ cups Arborio rice

1 large leek

3 ½ cups of chicken broth

1 cup of sweet peas

½ – ¾ lb thick cut bacon

1 tbsp butter

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions:

First, prepare the leeks. Leeks can get all sorts of gunk and dirt inside them so I read about an easy way to clean them out. Cut off the dark green ends so only light green and white parts remain.

image

image

Cut it lengthwise about an inch from the root and then lengthwise again, so its in fours but still attached at the bottom.

image

Next, swirl it around in a big bowl of water to clean it out.

image

Now, chop the leek into small chunks and set it aside.

image

Cook the bacon until it gets crispy and makes your house smell irresistable. Mmm bacon….

image

Remove the bacon from the pan and then throw the leeks in so they can soak up the bacon grease. Cook them until they are tender, about 5 minutes. When they are finished, set them aside until the risotto is cooked.

image

For the risotto, put the rice in a large, deep pan and set the heat to medium-high. In a separate pot, pour in the chicken broth and turn the stove to medium-high heat so that it warms up. In the pan with the rice, add one and a half cups of Saison and stir constantly.

image

Once it is absorbed, add ½ cup of the warm chicken broth and stir again until absorbed. Repeat this until you have used up all the chicken broth. Then, add the tablespoon of butter and the last half cup of Saison.

image

By this time, the rice should be creamy and slightly firm. Add the peas, leeks, and crumble in the bacon. Once all the tasty ingredients are put together, serve in a few bowls and drink the remaining Saison with the meal!

image

image

image

image

 

 

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

