Chocolate Yeti Banana Bread Muffins

Chocolate Yeti Banana Bread Muffins

Both of my grandmothers make amazing banana bread. Fo’ realz – its amazing. And I got to eat both all the time as a child which probably explains my weird chubby phase that I went through from ages 8-15. Smothering cream cheese and extra sugar on top probably didn’t help either. So, which of my grandmothers’ recipes did I choose to make? Neither, of course! I refuse to pick favorites. Instead, I made my own and threw some beer in it. Not just any beer, though. I chose Chocolate Oak-Aged Yeti by Great Divide. The Yeti series of stouts is by far the best. Ok..I guess I do pick favorites. But really, I’m not a big stout drinker and I find that all of the variations of Yeti are incredibly smooth. They are also easy to cook with and pair food with, as seen in the coconut macaroon recipe.

Now, I know a lot of people like chocolate-chip banana bread but truth be told, I hate it. I like a good old-fashioned banana bread with walnuts. I think the chocolate chips overpower everything and ruin my banana loving experience. Therefore, in this recipe I didn’t add chocolate chips – partly because I wanted to eat the recipe and enjoy it and also because I didn’t want the chocolate chips to mask the flavors from the beer. Yes yes I know, the beer is a chocolate beer, but its not the same as chocolate chips. The cocoa and oak characteristics enhance the flavors of the walnuts and bring a lil’ sumthin sumthin extra to the table. Try it out and see for yourself.

image

The stars of the show:

image

 

Ingredients: 

2 ¼ cups flour

¾ cup granulated sugar

¾ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 ¼ cups of crushed walnuts

2 eggs

¾ cup of Chocolate Oak Aged Yeti by Great Divide Brewing Company

4 large overripe bananas (or 5 small ones)

6 tbsp butter

½ cup of plain greek yogurt

 

Directions: 

Preheat the oven to 350°F. When it reaches the correct temperature, spread the walnuts out on a baking sheet and let them toast for about 5 minutes.

image

 

In a large bowl, combine the drug ingredients – flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Add most of the walnuts when they are finished but keep the oven on. Save some walnuts for topping your banana bread. As for the butter, it needs to be melted but it can’t be hot. A good way to accomplish this is to put it in the microwave on the defrost setting for about 30 seconds. This will help get it soft without it boiling. If it gets too hot, just leave it out and let it cool. In a separate bowl, crack and whisk the eggs.

image

 

Next, add the bananas and mash them with the whisk.

Pre-mashing:

image

Post-mashing:

image

 

If the butter has cooled, add it to the mix along with the Chocolate Yeti and greek yogurt, and give it a stir.

image

 

Then, fold the wet mix into the dry mix just enough to get everything combined. Now – you can either put the batter into a greased loaf pan or make muffins. I wanted to make a loaf of bread but I realized I didn’t have a loaf pan, so muffins happened.  I filled the muffin tins about ¾ of the way to the top and poured about of teaspoon of extra beer on top along with the remaining walnuts.

image

image

image

 

They need to bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. When they are finished, let them cool for about 10-15 minutes and then enjoy with the remaining Chocolate Yeti – as long as you’re not baking in the morning.

image

image

image

image

image

image

 

 

 

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

