Crooked Stave

Explore: Crooked Stave Artisan Beer Project

I knew The Source was a rad place long before I went there to drink beer. Not only had I looked it up online, I had eaten a delicious chorizo benedict at Comida, a restaurant in the building, a few weeks before. The Source is a collective of eateries, providers of booze, and quaint little shops. Within the warehouse, there is a butcher, a baker, a florist, a gallery, a distillery, and nestled in the back left corner is Crooked Stave. The surrounding atmosphere is hip yet the look of the bar is simple and sleek. They put all their focus into their brews, which becomes quite apparent when you start to drink them.

This brewery, or artisan beer project, specializes in sours and takes the style to the next level. I imagine it must be hard to have multiple sours on tap and make each one taste different, but somehow they are able to do it. Crooked Stave isn’t just for sophisticated beer lovers, either. It is a place for young hipsters, old couples, and hippies – because they have kombucha on tap. Which brings me to my next point: they are quite the creative bunch over at Crooked Stave. One example of this creativity is the fact that they combine the St. Bretta Winter blend with a beet, apple, carrot, and cinnamon kombucha from Happy Leaf. And oh my god….it is amazing and the foam on top looks like rainbow sherbet. It also didn’t make me feel so bad that I was drinking at noon since it contained lots of vitamins and nutrients that I absolutely needed (or at least that’s what I’m telling myself). They have a lemon, hibiscus, ginger kombucha on tap that they usually mix with Vielle, as well. Some of the other brews I tried during my visit include St. Bretta Spring, St. Bretta Winter, Vielle (both without kombucha), Colorado Wild Sage, and Surusion. I also recently cooked with Surette. I highly recommend each and every work of art these brewers are pumping out. St. Bretta Spring was very herbal while St. Bretta Winter was earthier. Colorado Wild Sage was exactly as its name describes, sage-a-licious (I’d love to roast a whole chicken in it). Surusion smelled like Christmas and was very tart at first, but after each sip, became more complex on the taste buds. The brewery has quite a few other creations as well and they are always experimenting. So I only have one question, when can I move in?

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

 

 

 

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

