Collaboration Fest 2014

Collaboration Fest 2014

Favorite Parts of Collaboration Fest 2014:

Success. Its the best word to describe Collaboration Fest 2014. I have been to other beer festivals before, but this was by far one of my favorite. Not only did I get the chance to try over 35 new brews, there was enough for everyone! I’ve seen problems at festivals in the past where breweries come unprepared and run out before the festival is over. Not at Collaboration Fest. I stayed until the very end and the party was still poppin’.

I pretty much enjoyed everything I tasted, but I was smart enough to write down some of my favorites before I imbibed too much. In no particular order, here they are:

Black Fox Brewing and TRVE Brewing Collaboration: A rustic saison fermented in white wine barrels.

This was the only beer I had that I went back for seconds. It was absolutely amazing. I’m slightly biased because I have an obsession with saisons, but wow, this one was good. Lots of funkiness and peppery notes that you would expect in a saison with a clean white wine finish that wasn’t too sweet. How can I get a barrel of this shipped to my house?

Oskar Blues and Shamrock Brewing: Death By Coconut

This coconut and dark chocolate porter literally tasted just like my recipe for coconut macaroons (which were dipped in chocolate). I know what you’re thinking, “It must’ve been a sugar overload!” Well, you’re wrong. It had all the amazing flavors without being too sugary sweet. If you are too lazy to throw together my recipe, go grab yourself a Death by Coconut.

Wit’s End Brewing and Colorado Cider Company: Cibeertron

Never before have I had a cider/beer mix. It has the spice from the yeast and the tartness from the apples. It reminded me of a farm-fresh apple pie.  If I ever cooked apples in booze again, I would do it in this.

Elevation Beer Company and Epic Brewing AKA Epication: Blackberry Saison

At this point, I was kind of drunk. You can tell from my notes because for this one, I just wrote, “Blackberry Saison is off da hook!” This is not a great description at all. From what I remember though, it had tart blackberry flavors in the forefront and the typical saison profile underlying it. I hope they bottle/sell this so I can try it again.

 

Overall, everything at Collaboration Fest was amazing. The people were tons of fun, I got to talk to many brewery staffers, and of course, drank tons of delicious beer. I can hardly wait for next year and I’ll be counting down the days until Collaboration Fest 2015.

Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014 Collaboration Fest 2014

 

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

