Brussels Sprout Chips

I’m currently writing and sipping on a Trippel while my tasty, little Brussels sprout chips are crisping up in the oven. Let me set the record straight, I pretty much hate all vegetables. Especially leafy green things. They’re disgusting and I don’t know why anyone would choose to eat them. Who was the first person that walked up to a plant and was like, “I think I will nom on that!” That person was seriously weird.

With that being said, if you spray veggies with olive oil and let them fry away in the oven, they somehow become magically delicious. The first time I ever had Brussels sprout chips was at one of my favorite restaurants in Denver, Linger. The problem is, it would be strange if I went there everyday and just ordered a side of Brussels sprouts. Also, I would need to order 3 sides because they have super small portions. To remedy my dilemma, I figured out how to make them on my own.  It’s incredibly easy, somewhat healthy, and unbelievably delicious. There is no beer pairing for this recipe, but I do suggest grabbing one of your favorite brews while you prepare them because it does take a little bit of time. I chose Trippel because it’s refreshing and I love the strong taste of coriander. Chose anything you like and sip away while you peel leaves and wait for the oven timer to go off.

 

Serving Size: Will feed 2-4 people depending on how hard they want to snack

Brussels Sprout Chips

Ingredients:

12-15 Brussels sprouts depending on size

Olive oil spray

2 tsp Sea salt

Directions:

Wash your veggies, grab a cutting board and knife, and set the oven to 350°. Cut off the bottoms of the Brussels sprouts and start to peel off the leaves. I usually have to cut off the bottom two separate times to get enough leaves off one sprout.

Brussels Sprout Chips

Brussels Sprout Chips

When it gets too hard to peel and you start reaching the center, grab a new sprout. You can toss the centers or you can save them for some other recipe. Once the peeling is complete, spread the leaves out onto a cookie sheet. Spray with olive oil. If you don’t have the spray, you can drizzle them with olive oil from a bottle but I do not recommend it because it pools on the leaves and they become too greasy.

Brussels Sprout Chips

Brussels Sprout Chips

After the oil treatment, sprinkle sea salt on top. Pop them in the oven for 8-15 minutes, depending how crispy you want them. I cooked these ones for 14 minutes. Remember, brown doesn’t mean burnt, it just means they are cooked. They might not all cook the same so if you hate the brown ones, you can pick them out. Also, if you decide to cook some just for yourself then halve the recipe. Or don’t halve the recipe and just eat a lot. The less sprouts on the tray, the less amount of time it will take to cook, so keep that in mind. As soon as they are crisped to your liking, take them out of the oven and enjoy!

Brussels Sprout Chips

Brussels Sprout Chips

Brussels Sprout Chips

Published by

drinkandspoon

A 20-something living in Denver, attempting to whip up delicious recipes made with or paired with mostly local craft brews. If you like eating and drinking delicious things, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

